Princess Royal Fortress
The Old Forts in Albany are an historical landmark, originally built in the late 1800′s they formed the first federal defence of Australia. It’s amazing to walk around and explore these old defences nestled in amongst the large boulders above Mt Clarence.
Thank you VBI Photography
In 1791 Captain George Vancouver claimed the Southern Part of Western Australia for the British Crown. As he explored the coastline, he discovered one of the world's finest natural harbours and named it Princess Royal Harbour and King George Sound.
During the 19th century, the loss of this strategic port to any enemy was identified as a potential threat to the security not only of Western Australia, but the whole of Australia. As a result all the Australian states agreed to to pay for the construction of a fort and the British Government would supply the guns. The Fort was opened in 1893 and was the first federal defence of Australia.
The Princess Royal Fortress has two gun batteries dug into the hillside of Mount Adelaide -Fort Princess Royal ( 2 x 6 inch guns) and Fort Plantagenet ( 1 x 6 inch gun) .
From 1893 to 1956 the guns of maintained their role as a deterrent and never fired a shot in anger.
In 1956 and all coastal defences including the Princess Royal Fortress were closed. The buildings were used as school rooms, migrant hostels and a holiday camp. This site now houses a number of major museum display areas, including the Military Heritage Centre, Ellam-Innes Collection, Naval Display, Australian Light Horse Museum, former HMAS Perth Interpretive Centre and the First Dawn Display.
For more information on bunkers and gun emplacements please visit http://www.ozatwar.com/bunkers/princessroyalfortress.htm
Albany Avenue of Honour - Alex Drive
The Albany Avenue of Honour in Apex Drive was planted in 1955-1956 and replaced the original avenue planted in 1921 in Middleton Road. It honours those who fell in World War One, World War Two and the Korean War.
The Albany Avenue of honour was originally planted in Middleton Road in 1921 to honour the fallen of World War One. At the time of the planting Nurse M.C.Birt penned a poem in commemoration of the planting.
May every leaf on each green tree,
As changing seasons come and go,
Whisper our pride and sympathy
To name plates on their boles below,
And murmur one unending song,
In praise of those who marched along
Our Avenue of Honour